on the image below for a full size view. Click the smaller
images for additional views.
Please scroll down to view the art and
to see a detail map of the location.
Library home of the Anaheim Museum
John C. Austin
history is preserved in the historic Carnegie Library
building which was built in 1908 and is the last remaining
example in Orange County of Andrew Carnegie's vision.
Anaheim had its own Library as early as 1873 and was
granted $10,000 for a Carnegie building. The building
was designed by John C. Austin of Los Angeles who also
designed the Griffith Park Observatory and the Shrine
Auditorium. He added Mission influence to a Classical
Revival style suggested by the red roof tile over the
wide low rectangle of the building, beige and tan brick,
shady recessed portico, and adjacent palm trees, conveying
the sense of an indigenous adobe building. The Carnegie
building served as a library from 1909-1963.
The structure was relocated to its current site on Broadway
and Anaheim Boulevard, and in 1995 the Anaheim Redevelopment
Agency beautified the exterior with new landscaping
and signage. Housing the Anaheim Museum since 1987,
two of its galleries are reserved for changing exhibits
that come from other institutions or may be curated
from regional sources by Anaheim Museum staff. Special
exhibits, as well as SITE exhibits from the Smithsonian
Institute are sponsored by donations and grants from
civic and service organizations and general membership
commitments. A third gallery is exclusively used for
children's' exhibits. Depending upon the subject, hands-on
workshop projects are scheduled allowing children to
experience by touching, as well as looking. Visitors
may patronize the Museum Store, which provides a resource
for printed materials related to the history of Anaheim,
as well as unique gifts, works by local artists, and
specialty products related to the exhibitions on display.