|Historic Preservation Archives|
Our featured home is nestled in one of Downtown Anaheim's latest created neighborhoods in the Anaheim Colony Historic District. This Queen Anne Victorian home, built in 1897 by John Rea (father of Kate and Ella Rea, for whom Katella Avenue was named) was originally located on the corner of Broadway and Philadelphia, and then moved to 125 W. Elm Street in 1922. This beautiful home was once again moved in 2007, and has been fully restored at 129 W. Stueckle Avenue. This rare architectural style and survivor of an early Anaheim era is a true gem to the community. This house was also home to former Anaheim Mayor, Louis Miller in 1928-1931.
This single-story Craftsman style bungalow, built in 1912, sits prominently on a corner, directly across from Pearson Park. The home sits along a short block of wonderful residences that are best seen by a sidewalk stroll. Known as the Hilend House, this home, with its cross-gabled roof, brick columns and clapboard style redwood siding is accentuated by interesting Oriental influenced elements. Those features include the curving rafter tails and a unique set of four flared supports holding one long trim board with curved ends centered over the wide front porch. The rich colors selected for this home highlight the many trim features on the house, while allowing the siding to blend with the landscaping that complements the home. The lot that this house sits on was once owned by Clementina Zimmerman Schmidt who has been credited by historians with suggesting the name “Annaheim” which was eventually shortened and selected by a vote of the Los Angeles Vineyard Society members. James S. Hilend, a general contractor, eventually bought this lot and built the house. Over the course of the first 84 years of the life of this house, ownership had remained within two families, although several families had called it home over those years.
150th Anniversary Weekly Series of Anaheim's Historic Homes
Click Here for the Weekly Historic Home Archive