Sex Offenders

In 1947, California became the first state in the nation to require convicted sex offenders to register with local law enforcement agencies California's Megan's Law was enacted in 1996 per Penal Code § 290.46. It mandates the California Department of Justice (CA DOJ) to notify the public about specified registered sex offenders. , registered sex offenders have been categorized into classifications based upon their offense conviction and level of threat to the community. In certain cases, Megan’s Law also authorizes local law enforcement agencies to notify the public about sex offender registrants found to be posing a risk to public safety. Megan's Law is named after seven-year-old Megan Kanka, who was raped and killed by a known child molester who had moved across the street from the family without their knowledge.

The California Sex Offender Registry at the California Department of Justice (DOJ) maintains the registered sex offender database. The database is the basis for the information displayed on this website.
 
Registered sex offenders are required to update their information annually with local law enforcement, within five working days before or after their birthday. Some sex offenders must update their information more often: transients must update every 30 days and sexually violent predators must update every 90 days. The California Sex Offender Registry keeps track of the next required update, and if a registered sex offender is in violation of the update requirements, this website will show the registrant as being in violation.

When registrants change their residence address or become transient (homeless), they are required to update their registration information within five working days with a local law enforcement agency. The local agency then forwards this information to DOJ. DOJ updates this website on a daily basis based upon the information received from local law enforcement agencies.

Pursuant to Penal Code § 290.46, sex offender information is displayed according to specific posting categories based upon conviction. The home address category requires that the home address of the offender be posted. The ZIP Code category requires that the offender’s ZIP Code, city and county be posted but not his or her home address. The conditional home address category requires that some offenders be moved from the ZIP Code category to the home address category upon conviction of another registrable offense. There is also a category of registered sex offenders that cannot, by law, be displayed on the Megan’s Law website. However, those offenders are still required to register as sex offenders with local law enforcement agencies. For statistical information regarding the number of registrants in each posting category, please visit the statistics page.

Certain offenders can apply to be excluded from this website pursuant to Penal Code § 290.46, subdivision (e). If the offense is a felony sexual battery (Penal Code § 243.4(a)), or a misdemeanor annoy/molest children (Penal Code § 647.6.), exclusion must be granted if there is no other registrable offense. An offender convicted of felony child pornography (Penal Code §§ 311.1, 311.2 subd. (b), (c), or (d), or Penal Code §§ 311.3, 311.4, 311.10, or 311.11), where the victim was at least 16 years or older, can also apply for exclusion. Offenders who successfully complete probation for an offense in which the victim was their child, stepchild, sibling, or grandchild, and which did not involve either oral copulation or penetration of the victim, may also be granted exclusion. Beginning January 1, 2012, exclusion cannot be granted unless the person’s risk level on the state static risk assessment instrument is low or moderate-low. Offenders in this category must also register as a sex offender with a local law enforcement agency.

Serious Offenders


 
A serious offender is a registrant whose underlying offense is either a certain felony sex offense or misdemeanor child molestation.  These offenses will include all felony sex offenses for which registration is required, with the exception of spousal rape, pornography and related offenses, and indecent exposure.  For a complete list of a registrable offenses and classification refer to California Penal Code Section 290.

High Risk Offenders


 
Sex offenders who have been convicted of multiple violent crimes or have been declared a sexually violent predator pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 6600.


Other Sex Registrants


 
Sex offenders who are not subject to public disclosure or Megan’s Law fall into the “other” category.  These offenders include offenders convicted of possession of pornography, spousal rape, indecent exposure, misdemeanor sexual battery, or juveniles adjudicated in juvenile court.

How to Register


 
If you are a sex offender required to register pursuant to Penal Code Section 290 and living in the City of Anaheim or moving into the city, you must register in accordance with California Penal Code Section 290. Transient registrants must register every 30 days.  

Registrations are conducted at the Anaheim Police Department’s Detention Facility, located at: 425 S. Harbor Blvd. Anaheim, CA 92805.  The entrance to the Detention Facility is located on Santa Ana St. 

Registrants are processed, by appointment, Sunday-Friday, between 7:00 a.m.- 10:00 a.m. Appointments can be scheduled by calling (714) 765-1882.