Historic Districts

The City of Anaheim has 4 distinct historic districts located in Central Anaheim. These districts encompass approximately 2-square miles.
The 4 historic districts are colored coded on the map

Since 1997, the Anaheim City Council has adopted four historic districts that are located in Central Anaheim. Although Anaheim is comprised of historically significant structures throughout the City's 50 square miles, the vast majority are clustered in the four historic districts shown below. These districts encompass approximately two-square miles of Anaheim.

All of the district's historic homes have been inventoried and many have been surveyed in detail. Certain structures in these districts are eligible to participate in the Mills Act Program that was approved by City Council in 2000. This program may allow property owners to enjoy a reduction in property tax in exchange for restoring the exteriors of their homes and maintaining them in a historically accurate condition.